Public art commission | Sculpture on the Square, Roscommon

Roscommon County Council invites submissions from artists for one sculptural artwork to be mounted on a polished concrete plinth on the newly developed square in Roscommon Town. The Sculpture on the Square is to be a contemporary feature, drawing in passers-by and engaging them to explore Roscommon Town and its many assets. The commission is intended to provide opportunities for dialogue and participation with the local community.

The  commission is part of the final elements of the Roscommon Town Main Street and Market Square Public Realm Project funded under the 2018 Urban Regeneration and Development Fund (URDF) and Roscommon County Council regeneration team working with GKMP Architects, artist Rhona Byrne and multidisciplinary team appointed to implement the Innovative Architectural and Artistically Influenced Covered Civic Space in Roscommon Town Centre.

Please read the brief for further details about the commission and location.


The budget is €49,000 inclusive of artist fee, VAT, labour, and materials.

Deadline (Stage one)

16:00, Wednesday 23 August 2023.


This is a two-stage open competition. A selection panel will shortlist up to 3 artists who will be invited to further develop their proposals at stage two. A proposal development fee of €300 will be paid to shortlisted artists. For further information regarding the commission see:


For submission and queries contact Mary on:

Roscommon County Council Public Art Panel

Artists who submit an application may be invited to join the Roscommon County Council Artist Panel for public art commissions during 2023—2024.





no news in this list.

more opportunities

Focus On



Nazareth Housing Association provides independent living houses for individuals and couples who are 65 and over and on the Sligo County Council housing list.  Nazareth Village is comprised of 48 houses in a garden setting.  The Village was financed as a public-private partnership between Nazareth Housing Association and Sligo County Council with funding from the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government.  

more about this article